Alice Ammerman – Director, Center for Health Promotion and Disease Prevention & Professor, Department of Nutrition in the Gillings School of Global Public Health and School of Medicine


Lawrence Band – Director, UNC Institute for the Environment & Voit Gilmore Distinguished Professor, Department of Geography


Steering Committee Roster

Rumay Alexander – Clinical Professor and Director, Office of Multicultural Affairs, School of Nursing

Stephen Barber – Staff Assistant to the Committee

Linda Beeber – Distinguished Professor, School of Nursing

Jeanette Boxill – Director, Parr Center for Ethics & Chair of the Faculty Council

Robert Bruce – Director, William & Ida Friday Center for Continuing Education


Marc Cohen – Lecturer, Department of English & Comparative Literature


Jo Anne Earp – Chair & Professor, Health Behavior, Gillings School of Global Public Health


Sue Estroff – Professor of Social Medicine, Research Professor in Psychiatry, & Adjunct Professor in Department of Anthropology

Stephen Farmer – Vice Provost for Enrollment & Undergraduate Admissions

Don Hornstein – Aubrey L. Brooks Professor of Law, School of Law


Marc ter Horst – Director, UNC Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Facility

Julie Lauffenburger -Vice President for External Affairs, Graduate & Professional School Federation & Doctoral Student in Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy, School of Pharmacy

Melinda Manning -Assistant Dean of Students, Education & Advocacy


Rachel Myrick – Student Body Vice President for 2012 – 2013


Josmell Perez -Multicultural Programs Coordinator, Office of Diversity & Multicultural Affairs & Director, Carolina Latina/o Collaborative and Graduate Student, UNC School of Education

Terry Rhodes – Senior Associate Dean for Fine Arts & Humanities, College of Arts & Sciences

Geoff Sayre-McCord – Morehead Alumni Distinguished Professor, Department of Philosophy


Ronald Strauss -Executive Vice Provost & Chief International Officer